About us

MISSION

We believe art plays a key role in understanding today’s society, strengthening the local community and stimulating creative ideas for a more inclusive and a more sustainable future.

The vision of the Art Encounters Foundation is to become a meeting point for people, ideas, cultures, communities, and to create an open platform for contemporary art in connection with both the city of Timișoara and the global art scene. The public is encouraged to explore the field of art and to engage in a permanent knowledge exchange.

The Art Encounters Foundation aims to deliver an institutional model tailored to the needs of the local context and which is equally engaged in contributing to the international art scene. Founded in 2015 by art collector and entrepreneur based in Timișoara Ovidiu Șandor, Art Encounters Foundation is an initiative aiming to enrich and support the development of the contemporary art scene in Romania. Its core mission is driven by the aspiration to foster dialogue, learning, research, and experiment. 

The foundation’s activities are carried out over the following main directions: organizing the Art Encounters Biennial in Timișoara and the exhibition program taking place at its permanent space in Timișoara or other places; fostering education and audience development through public programs; developing a solid series of artistic and curatorial residencies. In conjunction with the permanent programs of the Foundation, the private art collection of Ovidiu Șandor, the president of the Art Encounters Foundation, functions as open resource for exhibitions, institutional collaboration, and research.

TEAM


EXHIBITION SPACE


Diana Marincu
Artistic Director
diana.marincu@artencounters.ro

Ioana Gonțea
Operations Manager ioana.gontea@artencounters.ro

Alina Bernecker
Project Management Consultant
alina.bernecker@artencounters.ro

Natca Vaszilcsin
Logistics Manager
natca.vaszilcsin@artencounters.ro

Cristina Apostol
Project Manager
cristina.apostol@artencounters.ro

Attila Erdei
Technical Coordinator
attila.erdei@artencounters.ro

Marius Stan
Communications & PR Manager
marius.stan@artencounters.ro

Germina Ion
Communications & PR Assistant
germina.ion@artencounters.ro

Daniel Gagiu
Logistics & Hospitality Assistant
dani.gagiu@artencounters.ro

Andra Dascălu
Production Assistant
andra.dascalu@artencounters.ro

Georgia Țidorescu
Assistant Curator
georgia.tidorescu@artencounters.ro

Teodor Suciu
Financial Assistant
teodor.suciu@artencounters.ro

Elvira Lupșa
Cultural Producer
elvira.lupsa@artencounters.ro

Ovidiu Șandor
President

Casa ISHO, Art Encounters Foundation’s headquarters, Timișoara
Exhibition view, Because in our dreams we took risks, photo credit: infi.ro




Starting with January 2018, Art Encounters Foundation carries out its daily activity and exhibition program in its permanent space, Casa ISHO, on 46C Take Ionescu Blvd., Timișoara.

The exhibition space, with a total area of 264 square metres, is situated on the first floor of the building.